Martin McHugh among Donegal Congress appointments

Plenty of debate and reaction to some of the changes that are to arise from the GAA's General Congress which was held over the weekend.

Stricter sanctions for the cynical foul in both hurling and football has generated much comment, As has the move towards a split season which could mean the All Ireland finals being played in July next year.

Meanwhile, there was confirmation over the weekend that our own Martin McHugh is to join the GAA's new Central Competitions Control Committee.

The former Donegal player and GAA pundit is part of the new committee appointed by new GAA president Larry McCarthy - the grouping has responsibility for scheduling and arranging games under the control of Central Council.

Former County Chairman Sean Dunnion has been named on the Central Hearings Committee while Buncrana’s Julie Galbraith is on the Central Appeals Committee.

Michelle Bennett has also been appointed onto the National Referees Development Committee.

It's expected there will be further Donegal appointments on other committees in coming days.

Derek Kent, Taghmon Camross
Martin McHugh, CLG Cill Chartha
John Halbert, Watergrasshill Hurling Club
Mary Judge, Caherlistrane GAA Club
Séamus Kenny, Simonstown Gaels

Central Hearings
Brian Rennick, Dunderry GAA Club
Aoife Farrelly, Trim GAA Club
Micheál Óg McMahon, An Bhoth
Denis Holmes, Oola GAA Club
Tod O’ Mahony, Kiltimagh GAA
Gerry Hagan, Killoe Young Emmets
Seán Dunnion, Four Masters
Gerry Larkin, Tynagh/Abbey-Duniry
Michael Wadding, Roanmore GAA

Central Appeals Committee
Matt Shaw, Clonkill GAA CLub
Julie Galbraith, Buncrana GAA Club
Neil Sheridan, Balla GAA Club
Willie O’ Connor, Terence O’ Rahilly’s Tralee
Tom Farrell, Tang GAA Club
Eddie Hughes, Raonaithe na Croise
Paul Foley, Patrickswell GAA Club
Gerry Kavanagh, Stradbally GAA, Laois
Enda Tiernan, Cloone GAA Club