Deputy Pearse Doherty on new Covid-19 Committee

The new Oireachtas Covid-19 committee will meet today for the first time.

Its 19 members will aim to scrutinise the actions of government and other authorities in dealing with the Covid-19 pandemic.

Today's sitting will involve the election of a chairperson and a programme of work will be established.

Donegal TD Pearse Doherty is one of the members of the committee.