Counting continues in Donegal Electoral Area

Counting continues in the Donegal Electoral Area, and after the fifth count, Justin Coughlin, Valerie McNulty, Cyril Brennan, Seán Ó Beirne and Diarmaid Doherty have all been eliminated.

Doherty's 432 votes will now be redistributed.

No candidate has yet made the quota of 2,042.

The transfer of 126 votes to John McNulty is the biggest transfer in the count yet and leaves him on 1106.
Niamh Kennedy (1661)has increased her lead over Noel Jordan (1598).