Rising Star Award for Michael Langan

Photo Geraldine Diver

Letterkenny IT student Michael Langan has been honoured with an Electric Ireland Higher Education GAA Rising Star Award.

The St. Michael's clubman is the only student from the Trench Cup champions, and from Donegal to be chosen on this years selection.

Sigerson Cup Champions UCC topped the list with six winners, with four from beaten finalists St. Mary's University College Belfast and two each from NUI Galway and UCD.

Langan is the only player on the 15 chosen from the Trench Cup competition.

UCC's Sean O'Shea picked up the overall Electric Ireland Footballer of the Year award.

Electric Ireland HE GAA Rising Stars 2019


1 Mark Reid (St Mary's)

2 Brian O'Beaglaoich (UCC)

3 Kevin McDonnell (NUIG)

4 Graham O'Sullivan (UCC)

5 Cian Kiely (UCC)

6 Daniel O'Brien (UCC)

7 Cillian O'Shea (UCD)

8 Jarlath Og Burns (St Mary's)

9 Padraig Lucey (UCC)

10 Michael Langan (LYIT)

11 Sean O'Shea (UCC)

12 Peter Cooke (NUIG)

13 Stephen McConville (St Mary's)

14 Evan O'Carroll (UCD)

15 Shane McGuigan (St Mary's)

Footballer of the Year: Sean O'Shea (UCC)

Electric Ireland HE GAA Rising Stars 2019


1 Eoghan Cahill (Mary Immaculate)

2 Niall O'Leary (UCC)

3 Eddie Gunning (UCC)

4 Thomas Grimes (Mary Immaculate)

5 Chris O'Leary (UCC)

6 Paddy O'Loughlin (UCC)

7 Chris Crummey (DCU)

8 Conor Browne (UCC)

9 Jarlath Mannion (GMIT)

10 Shane Kingston (UCC)

11 Aaron Gillane (Mary Immaculate)

12 James Bergin (DCU)

13 Evan Niland (NUIG)

14 Shane Conway (UCC)

15 Mark Kehoe (UCC)

Hurler of the Year: Shane Conway (UCC)