Audio update: McHugh welcomes Island school funding


Post primary schools on the country's islands in the Gaeltacht, are to receive extra funding.

Education Minister Richard Bruton has announced a package of supports that includes an additional € 15,000 per post-primary school and extra teaching resources

Coláiste Naomh Eoin, on Inis Meáin, has been granted independent stand-alone status

There are five post-primary schools located on islands in the Gaeltacht in Counties Donegal and Galway.

Government Chief Whip and Gaeltacht Minister Joe McHugh: