Shane MacGowan wins Ivor Novello inspiration award

Shane MacGowan

Former Pogues frontman Shane MacGowan was awarded the Ivors Inspiration Award at the Ivor Novello Awards in London today at a ceremony which also saw Ed Sheeran bagging two awards.

60-year-old MacGowan was recognised along with fellow music veterans Billy Bragg, Lionel Richie, Cathy Dennis and Billy Ocean.

Sheeran - who already has two Ivors to his name - won the most performed work category with his hit track, Shape Of You, coming out on top ahead of his and Benny Blanco's Castle On The Hill and Human by Jamie Hartman and Rag `n' Bone Man.

Ed gets two more Ivors


Shape of You was co-written by Steve Mac and Johnny McDaid of Snow Patrol and is from Sheeran's award-winning third album, Divide, which has smashed records since its release in 2017. It also earned him the title of songwriter of the year in a special award.

Not be outdone, Stormzy, who beat Sheeran to two prizes at the Brit Awards in February, claimed the album of the year prize as he celebrated black music as "the popping thing right now".

Pete Turner, Mark Potter and Guy Garvey of Elbow with the award for Best Song Musically and Lyrically


Elbow also triumphed at the ceremony in central London on Thursday, bagging the best song musically and lyrically gong ahead of Sampha and Everything Everything.

The full list of winners

PRS For Music Most Performed Work - Shape Of You written by Steve Mac, Johnny McDaid and Ed Sheeran

Best Original Film Score - Jackie, composed by Mica Levi

International Achievement - Billy Ocean

Best Contemporary Song - Question Time, written by Dave and Fraser T Smith

Ivors Classical Music Award - Thea Musgrave

Best Original Video Game Score - Horizon Zero Dawn, composed by Joris de Man, Joe Henson and Alexis Smith

Best Song Musically and Lyrically - Magnificent (She Says), written by Guy Garvey, Craig Potter, Mark Potter and Pete Turner (Elbow)

PRS For Music Outstanding Contribution to British Music - Billy Bragg

Best Television Soundtrack - The Miniaturist

Best Album - Gang Signs & Prayer, written by Michael "Stormzy" Omari

Songwriter Of The Year - Ed Sheeran

Ivors Inspiration Award - Shane MacGowan

Outstanding Song Collection - Cathy Dennis

PRS For Music Special International Award - Lionel Richie