Donegal backroom team to be finalised tonight

Karl Lacey


Declan Bonner's backroom team will be finalised tonight when it goes for ratification at the Donegal County Committee meeting.

2012 All Ireland winner and Player of the Year Karl Lacey and Tyrone man John McElholm are the proposed coaching team.

Lacey, who retired from inter county football after the defeat to Galway, has been working with the county development squads since last year.

McElholm trained Killyclogher to the Tyrone Senior Championship title in 2016 and also steered St Mary’s of Magherfelt to McRory Cup success last year.

The rest of the additions to the backroom team will be Anthony McGrath, Gary Boyle, Chris Byrne, Paul Fisher and Ronan Doherty.

Buncrana's Paul McGonigle was named as assistant manager when Declan was appointed as the new Donegal Manager.