Five Donegal on Ladies All Star Nominations


There’s five Donegal players on the list of 45 nominations for the 2017 Ladies All Stars.

Despite a disappointing end to the championship losing to Mayo in the All Ireland quarter final, Donegal did win the Ulster title for only the second time and also reached the Division 1 Final against Cork.

Geraldine McLaughlin, Yvonne McMonagle and Niamh Hegarty are named among the forwards, Karen Guthrie at midfield and Ciara Hegarty is nominated for the centre half back position.

Tyrone’s Niamh Woods has also been nominated for the right back position.

All Ireland champions Dublin lead the way with 12 nominations.

Cora Staunton is chasing a record-equalling 11th career All Star, and she's one of six members of the losing All Ireland final Mayo side to be named.

The team of the year will be announced at a banquet at Dublin's CityWest Hotel on Saturday, November 25th.

Goalkeepers – Martina O’Brien (Cork), Ciara Trant (Dublin), Noelle Gormley (Sligo).
Right corner back – Emma Spillane (Cork), Martha Byrne (Dublin), Megan Dunford (Waterford).
Full back – Sinéad Finnegan (Dublin), Aislinn Desmond (Kerry), Sarah Tierney (Mayo).
Left corner back – Róisín Phelan (Cork), Rachel Ruddy (Dublin), Martha Carter (Mayo).
Right half back – Melissa Duggan (Cork), Caroline Kelly (Kerry), Neamh Woods (Tyrone).
Centre half back – Ciara Hegarty (Donegal), Niamh Collins (Dublin), Sharon Courtney (Monaghan).
Left half back – Shauna Kelly (Cork), Leah Caffrey (Dublin), Sinéad Burke (Galway).
Midfield – Caroline O’Hanlon (Armagh), Karen Guthrie (Donegal), Aileen Gilroy (Mayo), Lauren Magee (Dublin), Lorraine Scanlon (Kerry), Fiona McHale (Mayo).
Right half forward – Aimee Mackin (Armagh), Ciara O’Sullivan (Cork), Carla Rowe (Dublin).
Centre half forward – Aisling Doonan (Cavan), Doireann O’Sullivan (Cork), Niamh Hegarty (Donegal).
Left half forward – Nicole Owens (Dublin), Aishling Moloney (Tipperary), Katie Murray (Waterford).
Right corner forward – Eimear Scally (Cork), Sinéad Aherne (Dublin), Sarah Rowe (Mayo).
Full forward – Niamh McEvoy (Dublin), Geraldine McLaughlin (Donegal), Cora Staunton (Mayo).
Left corner forward – Orla Finn (Cork), Yvonne McMonagle (Donegal), Noelle Healy (Dublin).