Donegal to feature at AFL International Cup

The AFL International Cup will be held next month in Melbourne and Donegal will be well represented.

The Australian Rules Football League of Ireland have named their men’s and women’s teams for the World Cup of the sport.

On the women’s ‘Alfa Irish Banshees’ side, Rachel McGee, Fiona Roarty, Carolann Cassidy, Aisling Gillespie and Leona Russell from Donegal are included while Tyrone’s Claire Donnelly and Colleen Quinn, and Emma Kelly of Derry are also named.

There is no players with Donegal connections named on the men’s Irish Warriors team but Patrick Brennan of Derry will be the sole north west representative.

Ireland lost in both finals in the previous AFL World Cup in 2014 and go into this year’s competition as second favourites.

Alfa Irish Banshees
Claire Donnelly (Tyrone) - Ulster Kookaburras
Amanda Maginn (Down) - Ulster Kookaburras
Rachel McGee (Donegal) - Ulster Kookaburras
Sarah O'Donovan (Cork) - UCC Crusaders
Laura Flannery (Kerry) - Dublin Angels
Emma Kelly (Derry) - Ulster Kookaburras
Fiona Roarty (Donegal) - Ulster Kookaburras
Carolann Cassidy (Donegal) - Ulster Kookaburras
Olivia McCann (Armagh) - Ulster Kookaburras
Onora Mulcahy (Cork) - Wandsworth Demons, London
Laura Corrigan Duryea (Cavan) - Melbourne FC
Carol Breen (Waterford) - UTS Shamrocks, Sydney
Niamh Hainsworth (Dublin) - UTS Shamrocks, Sydney
Linda Connolly (Mayo) - Wandsworth Demons, London
Clara Fitzpatrick (Down) - Diamond Creek, Melbourne
Megan Creegan (Longford) - Sydney University
Molly Cullen (Wicklow) - Dublin Angels
Marie Keating (Limerick) - UCC Crusaders
Aisling Gillespie (Donegal) - Ulster Kookaburras
Rachel Fox (Sligo) - Perth Angels, Western Australia
Sandra Ryan (Tipperary) - UTS Shamrocks, Sydney
Colleen Quinn (Tyrone) - Ulster Kookaburras
Gillian Behan (Kildare) - UTS Shamrocks, Sydney
Emma Treanor (Galway) - UTS Shamrocks, SydneyÂ
Maebh Moriarty (Armagh) - UTS Shamrocks, Sydney
Leona Russell (Donegal) - Ulster Kookaburras
Mine Higgins(Galway) - Galway Magpies
Deborah Geraghty (Dublin) - UTS Shamrocks, Sydney
Christine McCutcheon (Cavan) - UTS Shamrocks, Sydney

Irish Warriors:
Muiris Bartley (Cork) - Leeside Lions
Patrick Brennan (Derry) - UTS Bats, Sydney
Brendan Browne (Kerry) - UTS Bats, Sydney
Liam Burns (Dublin) - South Dublin Swans
Ciaran Caffrey (Dublin) - South Dublin Swans
Oisin Collins (Cork) - Leeside Lions
Murtagh Condron (Laois) - South Dublin Swans
Ronan Cull (Dublin) - South Dublin Swans
Michael Finn (Kerry) - Heidelberg, Melbourne
Domhnall Fogarty - Powerhouse, Melbourne
Dominic Joyce (Galway) - Leeside Lions
Brendan Kelly (Antrim) - Belfast Redbacks
Tim Kenneally (Cork) - Powerhouse, Melbourne
Darragh Leonard (Cork) - Powerhouse, Melbourne
Colin Lordan (Limerick) - Leeside Lions
Padraig Lucey (Kerry) - Newtown, Geelong
David McElhone (Antrim) - Belfast Redbacks
Robert McElhone (Antrim) - Yeppoon, Queensland
Paul Murphy (Cork) - Leeside Lions
Gavin Murray (Wicklow) - South Dublin Swans
Barry Murray - Powerhouse, Melbourne
Declan Nannery (Westmeath) - Powerhouse, Melbourne
Padraic O'Connell(Cork) - Leeside Lions
Fiachra O Deasmhunaigh (Cork) - Powerhouse, Melbourne
Paul O'Halloran (Carlow) - South Dublin Swans
Shane O'Sullivan (Kerry) - UCC Bombers
Mark Tubridy (Clare) - Karratha, Western Australia
Gerard Walls (Antrim) - Belfast Redbacks
Head Coach - Brian Currane (Clare)