Johnny Connors crowned North West Premier Snooker Champion 2017

North West Premier Snooker League Champion 2017 Johnny Connors receiving his prize from Aidan Devenney, League co-coordinator and John Doherty owner North West Snooker Club Letterkenny

Johhny Connor won the inaugural North West Premier Snooker League this week.

He showed why he is the top cueist this year when he won his 3 games on the final night of competition to be crowned champion.

He finished on 101 points from a possible 108, winning 33 out of 36 matches, taking 27 in a row while going through the second half of the season without losing a match.

Johnny also recorded two century breaks throughout his campaign 109 and 104 respectively.

It was a tremendous finish to the league with 8 players competing for the top 5 positions in a very closely fought out run in.

Second place was 16 year old Sean Devenney who finished with 97 points and winning 31 of his games, he also had his first competitive century, a brilliant 117 break in the closing weeks of the season.

Third place honours went to Gareth Kirwin who had 94 points and won 29 of his matches, Gareth also had the highest break of the season when he made a brilliant 121 in the opening weeks.

Finishing 4th was Aidan Devenney on 91 points and winning 27 of his matches, he also had a 116 break.

Ronan Whyte finished 5th, he also had 91 points but his frame difference was two less than Aidan's. He won 30 matches and also made a brilliant century break on the final night when he had a 117 clearance in his first match, another player who has a bright future in front of him.

The organisers would like to thank all the players who competed in this first running of the league this year, to all the players who traveled from Derry, Ballybofey, Donegal town, Ardara and Dungloe for your commitment in helping the league go as smoothly and hopefully we will be back bigger and better next year.