Nominations sought for 2017 Tip O’Neill Diaspora Award


Donegal County Council have announced the official opening of the Tip O’Neill Irish Diaspora Awards nomination process for 2017.

The Tip O’Neill Irish Diaspora Award is a mechanism to honour members of the diaspora who have contributed to their new communities whilst retaining strong links to their homeland.

It was initiated in 2012 as a means of commemorating the centenary of the birth of the late Tip O’Neill who was a liberal Democrat and an influential member of the US House of Representatives.

The Award ceremony which is held annually in Donegal, part of the broader Diaspora project, has become a highlight of Donegal County Council’s calendar of events.

The Award is presented to a member of the broad Irish Diaspora who has achieved prominence or recognition in the area of business, commerce, industry, education, politics, finance or sport.

Previous recipients include journalist and publisher Niall O’Dowd, Senator Therese Murray former president of the Massachusetts Senate, and the most recent recipient U.S. political commentator Chris Matthews.

For further information please visit where you find details of the nomination process.

The closing date for receipt of completed nomination forms is Wednesday 31st May 2017.