Donegal announce more retirements

Donegal Gaa

Rory Kavanagh, Christy Toye and David Walsh are the latest players to announce retirements from the Donegal senior panel.

Donegal Manager Rory Gallagher confirmed to the media this afternoon that the All Ireland winning trio have decided to  hang up their inter county boots.

They join former team mates Colm Mc Fadden and Eamon McGee who retired after the Quarter Final defeat to Dublin last August.

It's a further blow to Donegal manager Rory Gallagher who has already seen Anthony Thompson and Odhran MacNiallais join Leo McLoone in ruling themselves out of the 2017 panel.

Gallagher said that the door has been left open for Thompson should he decide to return at a later date.

It with eight experienced players now gone from the set up, it will be a much changed squad for 2017 with 16 under-21 players involved in the panel.