Nomination deadline looms for schools in sports star awards


The Donegal Sports Star Awards has had a long and very successful association with both primary and secondary schools since the late 1970s.

And as the deadline approaches for schools nominations (Friday 18th November) it’s now time to recognize the big sports achievers from the academic year of September 2015 to June 2016. There will now be nine awards in this section sponsored by Donegal County Council.

Primary schools is being divided into two categories for the first time so there will be both a small (below 100 pupils) and large primary school award. And those two along with the winning secondary school will be presented with specially commissioned Donegal Sports Star Award flags that will fly outside the respective schools next year.

The 2015 winners were Best Primary Sports Girl - Keeva Thompson (Dooish N.S.); Best Primary Sports Boy - Oisin Kelly (Kilmacrennan N.S.); Best Secondary Sports Boy - Fergal Cox (Scoil Mhuire Buncrana); Best Secondary Sports Girl - Janine Boyle (St. Columba’s Stranorlar); Best Primary Sports Teacher - Irene McFadden (Scoil Mhuire Gan Smal, Letterkenny); Best Secondary Sports Teacher - Keith Cowan (Coaliste Ailigh, Letterkenny) while the overall best primary and secondary school awards went to (Scoil Mhuire Gan Smal Letterkenny) and Loreto Community School, Letterkenny) respectively.

It’s a huge honour to be nominated in the schools categories and for those who win it’s a massive achievement to be the best in your own county.

Nominations can be done online from the nominations page and emailed to or by completing a simple nomination form, which can be downloaded and posted to Paul McDaid, Post Office, Ramelton. Those not using on-line can simply post their nominations to Paul McDaid, Post Office, Ramelton. The deadline for nominations is Friday, November 25th.

For further details visit us on Facebook at Donegalsports Starawards or go to

PHOTO: Irish Fittest Family contestants Jordan, Danny, Alannah and Keane Ryan supporting the Donegal Sports Star Awards nominations. Danny won the Donegal Sports Star ‘Boxing’ Award in five successive years between 1990 and 1994