Killyclogher cruise to Tyrone Senior Championship


Killyclogher 0-20 Coalisland 0-6

Killyclogher captured the O’Neill Cup with a commanding display in a one-sided Tyrone SFC final replay at Healy Park.

Coalisland had to play most of the second half with 14 men following the second yellow card dismissal of Padraig Hampsey, but by that stage they were already eight points behind and the St Mary’s were in total control.

Mark Bradley was the attacking star of the show, hitting eight points, including six from play in the first half.

Bradley broke clear to post three delightful scores inside the opening eight minutes, and when Tiernan McCann charged through from deep to add another, they led by 0-4 to no score.

The St Mary’s were tight and disciplined at the back, talking with intensity and allowing their opponents no time on the ball.

Simon O’Neill thumped over a long range effort, and they were seven-nil ahead by the time Cormac O’Hagan opened Coalisland’s account from a ’45.

Bradley soon restored the seven points cushion, and when Conal McCann knocked a ’45 between the posts, Coalisland were in deep trouble.

Dermot Thornton pulled back a point, but Killyclogher held a commanding 0-9 to 0-2 lead at the interval.

Hampsey’s dismissal robbed the Fianna of their talismanic leader, and they fell 12 points behind as Aidy Kelly, Simon O’Neill, Tiernan and Conall McCann, and Bradley all found the target.

Coalisland did retrieve scores through Stephen McNally and Michael McKernan, but this was to be Killyclogher’s night.

Killyclogher: S Fox, M Swift, D Gorman, G Sludden, T McCann (0-o2), E Bradley, G Wallace, C McCann (0-02, 1 ’45), F Meenagh (0-01), A Kelly (0-01), S O’Neill (0-04, 2f), N Donnelly (0-01), E McFadden, M Bradley (0-08, 2f), L Meenan.
Subs: T Flanagan for Kelly, J Carlin (0-01, f) for O’Neill, C Donnelly for Sludden, D Carlin for E Bradley, N McFadden for M Bradley

Coalisland: J Curran, S Hughes, L O’Neill, M McKernan (0-01), E Hampsey, N Kerr, D Fee, P Hampsey, P McGahan, P Kane (0-01), C O’Hagan (0-01, ’45), S McNally (0-02, 2f), C Quinn, B Toner, D Thornton (0-01).
Subs: P Donnelly for Fee, C Bayne for O’Hagan, J Carberry for Quinn, S Corr for Hughes (BC), G Toner for McGahan, N Fox for E Hampsey
Referee: F Ward (Errigal Ciaran).