Letterkenny rally driver Brian Brogan claims Cork crown

Brian Brogan

The Letterkenny pairing of Brian Brogan and Damien McGettigan claimed their second National Victory of the year yesterday on the Cork 20 Rally.

Having already clinched the West Cork Rally back in March, the pair clinched victory by over one minute from Tommy Doyle and Liam Moynihan in their Renault Clio.

It was a hard fought win with mechanical trouble for the Escort on Saturday that needed a Crown wheel change.

On the stages, the conditions were tricky and damp, which caused havoc throughout the field.

It caused David Guest and Kilmacrennan man Paddy Robinson to crash their Evo, while leading Group N.

It was a good day for Marty Gallagher, who led the R2 category.

Martin Doherty and Ray Scott were having a good run in 6th in National in their Escort.
On Sunday, Brogan and McGettigan stretched their legs to claim the win and set blistering times all day when the conditions dried out and the stages were fast and flowing.

Doherty and Scott claimed fourth overall at the finish, while Leon Jordan guided Barry Mc Kenna to fifth overall.