Six stages on Day 1 of Ulster Rally

Elfyn Evans
Elfyn Evans

The Ulster Rally starts today in Derry. The event is round 6 of the Irish Tarmac, British and Northern Ireland Championships.

Over 150 cars and crews will tackle fourteen stages this afternoon and tomorrow Saturday.

The Fiesta of Elfyn Evans is the top seed. He'll be followed by Alaister Fisher and Donegal International runner up Keith Cronin.

Garry Jennings and Rory Kennedy will compete in a new Mitsubishi Mirage while Sam and Josh Moffett are also in the top ten.

Muffs Joseph McGonigle and Falcarragh's Ciaran Geeney will start in their Skoda Fabia S2000.

The first of the cars will leave the start ramp at the Guildhall Square shorty after 1pm with six special stages in Tyrone on the opening day - Holly Hill, Mary Gray and Butterloop. Those stages around the Strabane, Newtownstewart and Plumbridge area's will be done twice.

The service park area is at the Ebrington Complex on the waterside of the city.