Boyles win Tipperary Stonethrowers Rally but White wins National Rally Championship

Declan Boyle and Brian Boyle. Photo Brian McDaid
Declan Boyle and Brian Boyle. Photo Brian McDaid
Clonmel’s Roy White and his Cork co-driver James O’Brien won the Triton Showers National Rally Championship courtesy of their second placed championship finish on the Sepam Tipperary Stonethrowers Rally in Clonmel. 
The event, the sixth round of the series was won by Donegal cousins, Declan Boyle and Brian Boyle (Fiesta WRC), who finished 34.7 seconds in front of the R5 Fiesta on another Ulster duo, Alastair Fisher/Gordon Noble. 
Monaghan’s Josh Moffett and his Antrim co-driver John Rowan (Fiesta R5) were third, a further 16.9 seconds behind.
White/O’Brien came home in fourth place and gaining second placed championship points they won the Vard Memorial Trophy.  White is the third Tipperary driver to win the National Championship following in the footsteps of Donie Keating (1981 and 1991 and the late Frank Meagher (1986).