Cllr James Pat Mc Daid is the new Mayor of the Letterkenny Municipal District

Mayor James Pat

Ardara councillor Terence Slowey will take the chair at Donegal County Council today when he is elected Cathaoirleach as part of an inter-party pact on the authority. His Fine Gael colleague Cllr Barry O'Neill will become Leas Cathaoirleach.

They replace the Fianna Fail pairing of Cllrs Ciaran Brogan and Sean Mc Eniff.

Meanwhile, Cllr James Pat McDaid has described as a great honour his election as Mayor of the Letterkenny Municipal District.

He takes over the Chair from Councillor Gerry McMonagle.

Councillor McDaid says increasing investment into the district will be his priority as Mayor.........