DCU lose Sigerson Cup Final to dash Donegal hopes


Donegal hopes in the Sigerson Cup Final were dashed on Saturday when DCU lost to UCD.

The two Dublin universities went head-to-head at the higher education finals in Jordanstown.

Four Donegal players – Philip O’Donnell (Glenswilly), Caolan McGonagle (Buncrana), Cian Mulligan (Gweedore), and Nathan Gavigan (Ballybofey) – were on the DCU panel.

UCD won 0-10 v 2-02 to become Sigerson Cup champions for the first time since 1996.

Cóilín Duffy reports for Saturday Sport…