Success for Derry, Strabane and Gortahork in Pride of Place awards


There was success for three North West entrants in the IPB "Pride of Place" awards at the weekend, coordinated by Cooperation Ireland.

The Council Community Engagement Award was won by Derry and Strabane District Council.

The Strabane Community Project took a runner up award in the Age Friendly Community Initiative category, while Coiste Pobail Ghort a’Choirce was named a runner up in the Islands and Coastal Communities category.


Pic - Representatives from Ghort a Choirce with Tom Dowling, Chairman Pride of Place Committee, Ronan Foley, CEO IPB Insurance,  George Jones Chairman IPB Insurance, Cllr Mary Howard Leas Cathaoirleach Clare County Council, Jimmy Deenihan TD, Minister of State for the Diaspora, Tom Coughlan, County Manager Clare County Council, John Bruton, Former Taoiseach and Deputy Chairman Co-operation Ireland and Peter Sheridan at the 13th Annual IPB Pride of Place Awards in association with Co-operation Ireland at Tracey's West County Hotel Ennis.