Womens U17 squad named for European championships in soccer



Greencastles Roma McLaughlin has been named in the Ireland under 17 squad for the UEFA u17 European championships in Iceland which begin next week.Republic of Ireland Women's Under 17 head coach Dave Connell has announced his squad for the UEFA Women's U17 European Championships, which kick off in Iceland next week.

Drawn into Group B alongside France, Switzerland, and Norway, Dave Connell's side will be based in Reykjavik as they attempt to secure passage through to the final and then become just the fourth different team to win the tournament.


Goalkeepers: Amanda McQuillan (Raheny United), Nadine Maher (Shelbourne)

Defenders: Fiona Donnelly (Shelbourne), Jamie Finn (Raheny United), Chloe Maloney (Connolly Celtic), Niamh Prior (UCD Waves), Courtney Higgins (Shelbourne), Jessica Nolan (Castlebar Celtic)

Midfielders: Roma McLaughlin (Greencastle), Evelyn Daly (Lakewood), Saoirse Noonan (Douglas Hall), Sophie Watters (Shelbourne), Lucy McCartan (Peamount United, Aislinn Meaney (Lifford)

Forwards: Eleanor Ryan Doyle (Peamount United), Sarah McKevitt (Peakville), Dearbhaile Beirne (Shelbourne), Heather Payne (Salthill Devon)


UEFA European Championship Finals

22/06/2015: Republic of Ireland v France (Korinn, Kopavogur, Iceland; KO 2pm Irish Time)

25/06/2015: Republic of Ireland v Switzerland (Laugardalsvollur, Reykjavik, Iceland; KO 2pm Irish Time)

28/06/2015: Norway v Republic of Ireland (Korinn, Kopavogur, Iceland; KO 2pm Irish Time)