Five North West players named on Ireland squad for T20 games


Cricket Ireland have announced their squads for the ICC World T20 Qualifying tournament and the three match T20 International series against Scotland which takes place at Bready later this month.

Five North West men - William Porterfield, Andrew McBrine, Stuart Thompson, Craig Young and Graeme McCarter are all part of both the World T20 Qualifier and T20 International squads.

World T20 Qualifier squad (July 6-26)

William Porterfield (capt) (Warwickshire), Andrew Balbirnie (Middlesex), Alex Cusack (Clontarf), George Dockrell (Somerset), Tyrone Kane (Merrion), Andrew McBrine (Donemana), Graeme McCarter (Coleraine), John Mooney (Balbriggan), Niall O'Brien (Leicestershire), Kevin O'Brien (Railway Union), Stuart Poynter (Durham), Paul Stirling (Middlesex), Stuart Thompson (Eglinton), Gary Wilson (Surrey), Craig Young (Bready).

Scotland T20I series (June 18, 19, and 21 at Bready CC)

Kevin O'Brien (capt) (Railway Union), Andrew Balbirnie* (Middlesex), Alex Cusack (Clontarf), George Dockrell* (Somerset), Tyrone Kane (Merrion), Andrew McBrine (Donemana), Graeme McCarter (Coleraine), John Mooney (Balbriggan), Andrew Poynter (Clontarf), Stuart Poynter* (Durham), Max Sorensen (The Hills), Paul Stirling* (Middlesex), Stuart Thompson (Eglinton), Craig Young (Bready).