Kelly and Flanagan win National Championship opener

donagh kelly 0614

Donegal's Donagh Kelly and Derry's Kevin Flanagan in their Ford Focus won today's Abbeyleix Rally, the opening round of the Triton Showers National Rally Championship.

They finished 38.7 seconds ahead of the Subaru of Garry Jennings  with Niall Maguire, also in Subaru a further 25.4 seconds behind in third.

Declan Boyle finished outside the top ten after his Subaru punctured on the seventh stage.

It's back to back wins for Kelly after he won the Galway International Rally two weeks ago.