Five former Donegal Cllrs sharing €200,000 in gratuity payments

Donegal County CouncilFive former Donegal County Cllrs are to share €200,000 in gratuity payments.

The payments are made to Cllrs who lost their seats or retired from public life in the local elections in May.

Donegal County Council has confirmed a total of €193,000 is due to five former Cllrs in Co Donegal.

They are David Alcorn, Padriag O Doherty and John Boyle, who will all receive around €48,000, Noel McBride who will receive around €33,000 and Mickey Doherty who gets €16,000.

Two other former Cllrs, Dessie Larkin and Brendan Byrne are also entitled to gratuities once they reach their 50th birthdays.