Cllr John Campbell Appointed Cathaoirleach



Last Friday Independent Cllr. John Campbell was elected council cathaoirleach and  Cllr. Nicholas Crossan was elected leas-cathaoirleach. The election was agreed by all groupings at Friday’s AGM. Councillors also agreed an inclusive rotation of the cathaoirleach and leas-cathaoirleach posts over the five-year life of the council. Under the agreement, independents will hold the seats in the 2014-2015 council year; Fianna Fáil councillors will hold the seats in 2015-2016; Fine Gael will hold them in 2016-2017; Sinn Féin in 2017-2018; and Fianna Fáil again in 2018-2019. The decision followed what Fianna Fáil Cllr. Ciaran Brogan said had been a number of days of intensive negotiations among the groupings on council. When the agreement was reached, outgoing Donegal Mayor, independent Cllr. Ian McGarvey, said, “I am delighted to see that we have today arrived at a point where we will have an inclusive council.” John Campbell joins the Shaun Doherty Show to discuss his appointment.