Donegal retains its 13 Blue Flags and 6 Green Coast Awards

Blue FlagCounty Donegal has retained all of its 13 Blue Flags.

An Taisce today announced the International Blue Flag Award and the National Green Coast Award recipients for 2014 confirming the news.

Donegal also retain its 6 Green Coast Awards.

The 13 beaches to retain their blue flags in Donegal are Bundoran, Culdaff, Fintra, Downings, Killahoey, Marblehill, Lisfannon, Murvagh, Naran, Magherawarden, Shroove, Rossnowlagh and Carrickfinn.

Blue Flag beaches must be identified bathing waters and are judged against a total of 32 criteria.

The areas in the county that retained their Green Coast Awards are Dooey Beach, Drumnatinney, Magheroarty, Port Arthur and Rathmullan.

The Green Coast Award can be awarded to non-identified bathing waters and go to beaches that have excellent water quality, a five year beach management plan and where the local communities are encouraged to engage in the management of the beach.