Glenties conclusion – Michael Mac Giolla Easpaig joins council, Bonner and Slowey return

michaelcolmThe Glenties Electoral Area count has concluded with Independent Michael Colm Mac Giolla Easpaig elected to Donegal County Council. Fianna Fail's Enda Bonner returns to Lifford having lost his seat in 2009, while Fine Gael's Terence Slowey retains his seat after a tense battle with Fianna Fail's Ian Molloy for the final seat.


Glenties Update - Ninth count sees John Sheamuis O'Fearraigh elected to Donegal County Council, with the elimination of Labour's Seamus Rogers now set to determine the destination of final seats.


Fifth count completed, Marie Therese Gallagher elected, Hugh Mc Giolla Bhride of Fianna Fail eliminated, his 567 votes are now being distributed.





Second count completed, no material difference, Seamus O'Domhnaill's votes now being distributed.


Glenties area councillor Seamus O'Domhnaill is returning to Lifford after topping the poll and exceeding the quota of 1843 on the first count. Joe Mc Carron of DDI has been eliminated.

The full first count was as follows.

Enda Bonner  FF  1244

Brian Carr Ind  550

John Curran  FG  504

Padraig Doherty  Ind  650

Marie Therese Gallagher  SF  1754

Hughie Mac Giolla Bhride  FF  546

Michael Mac Giolla Easpaig  Ind  1106

Joe Mc Carron  DDI  146   Eliminated

Michael Mc Clafferty  Ind  721

Ian Molloy  FF  895

Seamus O'Domhnaill  FF  1889   Elected

John Sheamais O'Fearraigh  SF  1227

Seamus Rogers  Lab  742

Terence Slowey  FG  925