Inishowen Conclusion – Ryan retains seat after epic battle with Mc Laughlin


Outgoing Cllrs John Ryan and Martin Farren have been returned to Donegal County Council, with outgoing Cllrs Rena Donaghey and Paul Canning also deemed elected without reaching the quota. Sinn Fein's  Ciaran Mc Laughlin lost out by 117 votes.

After the 11th count in the Inishowen Electoral Area, FG Cllr Bernard Mc Guinness has been returned to the council Chamber in Lifford.

Update - After the 9th count, Sinn Fein's Jack Murray and Independent Nicholas Crossan have been elected.

As the counting of votes continues in the Inishowen Electoral Area, it's been confirmed that former IFF councillor Albert Doherty is returning to Lifford, this time representing Sinn Fein.

Fine Gael's Mickey Doherty will lose his seat, and his party colleague Cllr John Ryan is facing a battle to hold on to his seat with outgoing Buncrana Cllr Ciaran Mc Laughlin. The counting of votes is continuing, the distribution of Joe Murphy's 788 votes is set to be crucial in this intriguing count.

Fianna Fail's Martin Mc Dermott is the first new member to be elected to Donegal County Council, exceeding the quota by over 400 votes. The eleventh count in full -

Paul Canning  FF  1462

Nicholas Crossan  Ind  1652 ELECTED

Albert Doherty  SF  1636 ELECTED

Mickey Doherty  FG  820 ELIMINATED

Rena Donaghey  FF  1536

Martin Farren  Lab  1403

Paul Ferguson  Ind  94 ELIMINATED

Eilis Haden  DDI  107 ELIMINATED

Patrick Mc Carroll  Ind  671 ELIMINATED

Mary Mc Cauley  FF  605 ELIMINATED

Martin  Mc Dermott  FF  2002  ELECTED

Bernard Mc Guinness  FG  1726 ELECTED

Ciaran Mc Laughlin  SF  1307

Peter Mc Laughlin  FG  374 ELIMINATED

Joe Murphy  PBP  785 ELIMINATED

Jack Murray  SF  1706 ELECTED

John Ryan  FG  1360

Ryan Stewart  Ind  361 ELIMINATED