Donegal Hurlers honoured in Lifford

At a civic reception today in the County House, Lifford, the Donegal Hurling Team that won the Lory Meagher Cup in 2011 were honoured.

Speaking at this Civic Reception the County Manager, Mr. Seamus Neely said that he was delighted that Donegal County Council had an opportunity to recognise this special and historic won for the Donegal Hurlers.

This team reached the finals of the Lory Meagher Cup in 2009 and in 2010 but it was not until 2011 that the team achieved this victory with a 70th minute goal from Ciaran Mathewson securing this breathtaking win for Donegal.

The Lory Meagher Cup is an annual hurling competition organised by the GAA since 2009 and is an extension of the All-Ireland Senior Hurling Championship, the premier knock-out hurling competition.  The winners of the Lory Meagher Cup are promoted to the Nicky Rackard Cup competition the following year.

This win was the first senior All-Ireland title for the Donegal hurlers