Smoky coal to be banned in Letterkenny from next year

Letterkenny is to be included in the ban on smoky coal from next year.

The ban - which prevents the sale and distribution of smoky coal in certain areas - is to be extended to all of Dublin county and added to 7 towns across the country.

Minister Phil Hogan says Letterkenny will be included in the ban from May of next year, as well as Greystones, Mullingar, Navan, Newbridge, Portlaoise and Wicklow.

The ban will now apply to the burning of smoky coal - as well as the marketing and sale of the fuel.

Director of Friends of the Irish Environment, Tony Lowes, says the revised ban will provide a health boost to the towns covered: