Constituency Commission: Donegal constituencies merge into single 5 seater

The Constituency Commission has recommended that Donegal North East and South West should merge into one constituency with the number of Tds reduced from 6 to 5.

The number of constituencies around the country will be reduced from 43 to 40 – as well as a number of of other wide ranging changes to boundaries.

A section of South Donegal will merge with Sligo, Leitrim,  and West Cavan to  form a new 4 seat constituency

The Commission proposes cutting the number of TDs in Leinster House by 8 – from 166 to 158.