Rallying – First Donegal International For Jennings and Doherty

Fermanagh’s Gary Jennings and Donegal’s Neil Doherty won the Donegal International Rally on Sunday after three tough days and 22 stages of action in the county.

The Subaru wrc which lead the race from the opening stage on Friday come home 1 minute and 21 seconds ahead of Seamus Leonard and John Mc Cafferty. Derek Mc Garrity and last years winning navigator Paul Kiely were third. Donagh Kelly and Kevin Flanagan finished fourth while Irish Tarmac Championship leader Darren Gass and Enda Sherry rounded out the top five.

Gary Jennings who has won the Harvest and forestery events in Donegal in the past year, said on the finish ramp  he has been dreaming of winning the International for a long time…

Neil Doherty has now  joined an elite club of Donegal winning co drivers. The Glen mans name is now alongside previous winners Rory Kennedy and Seamus Mc Gettigan. On his arrival back in Letterkenny, Neil dedicated the win to his father John who is sick in Hospital…

Elsewhere Sam Moffet won Group N ahead of his brother Josh. Donegal’s Martin Doherty and Damien Mc Cauley were third in that class.

The National Rally in Donegal was stealing the headlines during the final day. At one stage just point eight of a second separated the top modified crews. In the end the escort of  Declan Boyle and Brian Boyle took the overall win by 4.8 seconds from Manus Kelly and Donal Barrett. Martin Mc Gee and Denis O’Manhony were third while Brian Brogan and Damien Mc Gettigan made it a top four for Donegal.

Here's more  reaction from competitors who made it back to the finish ramp.  Martin Mc Gee, Manus Kelly, Declan Boyle and Donagh Kelly but first the man who finished second overall, a best ever result for Omagh’s Seamus Leonard…