GAA – Tyrone Hurlers Win Lory Meagher Cup

Tyrone won the Lory Meagher Cup at Croke Park on Saturday after a thrilling one point extra-time victory over Fermanagh 2-24 to   3-20.

As the game headed for the closing minutes of extra time, Fermanagh were leading by a point. However, scores from Justin Kelly and Conor Grogan gave Tyrone the win, but not before a dramatic finale which saw three players sent off in a minute, Declan McGarry and Shea Curran of Fermanagh and Paudie McHugh of Tyrone.

Earlier in the game Tyrone went two ahead with little more than five minutes left but scores from McGarry and Ryan Bogue levelled it up again. Incredibly, both sides traded six points between them in the dying minutes to force extra-time. When Fermanagh took a quick lead in extra-time and Tyrone’s Aidan Kelly was dismissed, it looked like it would be their day anyway.

However, Tyrone showed great spirit to stay with them, and Justin Kelly’s goal late on in the extra period brought them level yet again. They held their nerve when Fermanagh regained the lead, and struck the late points to snatch the win.