GAA – Gweedore and Termon Win All Ireland Gaeltacht Titles

Despite a late scare, Gweedore hug on to claim their 7th Gaeltacht title in Magheragallon on Bank Holiday Monday defeating Kiltane from Mayo 1-13 to 2-9.

The hosts were made to sweat it out in the end as the visitors rallied late on and were awarded a penalty, however a goal from Owen Ward and three points each from Kevin Cassidy and Colin Ferry contributed to seeing the Gweedore men take the title on their home ground.

The Junior final was an all Donegal affair as Termon took on St Nauls. Termon edged the game by two points on a final score of 1-11 to 1-9.

The games turning point came just before the break as St Nauls went down to 14 after Barry Griffin was sent off. This was followed soon after by a Aidan Sweeney goal for Termon which proved decisive in the encounter.

There was also good news for Termon Ladies on Monday who eased passed Kilcummin from Mayo to win the ladies senior Gaeltacht title for the third time in a row. In a brilliant individual display, Maureen O'Donnell contributed 4-6 to her sides win with the final score 10-17 to 3-5.