GAA – McHugh & Campbell nominated for Player Of The Year Awards


Donegal's Mark McHugh has been named among the three nominees for this years GAA/GPA All Star Young Footballer of the Year. The Kilcar half forward who acted in the role of sweeper during the championship was crucial in helping the county win an Ulster title and reach an All Ireland Semi Final. The other two named in the category are Cillian O'Connor of Mayo and James Mc Carthy of Dublin. Dublin's Stephen Cluxton and Alan Brogan and Kerry's Darran O'Sullivan have been nominated for the  Footballer of the Year Award.
In the Hurling awards the  two nominees in the Lory Meagher Cup Player of The Year are from the North West. Niall Campbell was instrumental in helping Donegal win the compeition for the first time while beaten finalists Tyrone have Damien Maguire nominated. The short-list for the Hurler of the Year Award has also been released, with Kilkenny's Michael Fennelly and Tommy Walsh going-up against Tipperary's Pádraic Maher.