Councillor McBride elected Mayor

Councillor Noel McBride was this evening elected the new Mayor of Donegal.

In a vote he defeated Fianna Fail's Liam Blaney  by 18 votes to 10.

Councillor McBride was first voted on to Donegal County Council in 2004 and replaces Sinn Fein's Cora Harvey.

Councillor Barry O'Neill was elected Deputy Mayor and replaces Marie Therese Gallagher.