Donegal secures All-Ireland Hurling Title

After contesting 5 finals unsuccessfully since 2001 Donegal secured captured an All-Ireland Hurling title at the weekend.

Donegal lifted the Lory Meagher Cup defeating Tyrone by 2-12 to 0-17.

Man of the match Ciaran Mathewson hit the net in the 69th minute with the Donegal defence holding on to secure a famous victory.

But it wasn’t all plain sailing – Tyrone, trailing by 2 points at half time rallied to take a 2 point lead in the second period before Mathewson’s strike put Donegal ahead once more – a lead they would not relinquish.

Team manager Andrew Wallace praised his team's spirit: