Three County Council vacancies to be filled today

A special meeting of Donegal County Council is taking place in Lifford today to fill the vacancies left by the election of three former councillors to the Dail last month.

The three incoming councillors are John Campbell, who will replace Deputy Thomas Pringle as an Independent in the Donegal Electoral Area, Paul Canning, who will replace Deputy Charlie Mc Conalogue as a Fianna Fail Cllr in the Inishowen Electoral Area, and Jack Murray, who will replace Deputy Padraig Mac Lochlainn as a Sinn Fein councillor, also in the Inishowen Electoral Area.

Jack Murray, a former strategist and press officer, says it's a proud day............


Meanwhile, with Padraig Mac Lochlainn no longer a councillor, Sinn Fein will need to appoint a new whip. Although that is hasn't been confirmed yet, but we understand it's likely to be Cllr Mick Quinn.