Mary Coughlan moves to Department of Education, stays on as Tanaiste

Tanaiste Mary Coughlan has been made Minister for Education as part of a cabinet reshuffle announced by the Taoiseach this afternoon.

Minister Batt O'Keeffe has moved in the opposite direction to the newly named Department of Enterprise Trade and Innovation.

Minister Eamon O'Cuiv moves from the Department of Rural and Gaeltacht Affairs to the newly created Department of Social Inclusion and Family Policy - formerly known as Social and Family Affairs

Minister Mary Hanafin has been moved from the former department to the Department of Arts, Sport and Tourism

Junior Minister Pat Carey promoted to new the new Department of Community Equality and Gaeltacht Affairs - formerly Dept of Rural and Gaeltacht Affairs, while Junior Minister Tony Killeen is promoted to the Department of Defence.

Green Party TD's Ciaran Cuffe and Mary White will be promoted to Junior Ministries, along with Fianna Fail TD Sean Connick. Details will be announced in the coming days

Drugs Minister John Curran replaces Pat Carey as Chief Whip.